All things Pinteresting

Here is my inspiration for finally plucking up the courage for writing a blog. It only seems  fair that I pay tribute and feature the site in my first ever blog post! .. here goes! .. wish me luck!

images-3

Have you ever copied an image, an article or something you hope to buy from a website and then created a document on your computer in which you’ve pasted that image along with a web link back to the site?  I used to do this all the time. I’m sure most creative people have, well pinterest is the ready made equivalent!

A friend introduced me to pinterest last spring. I played about and quickly figured out how to use it, now it’s become a daily part of my world. I receive my emails updating me on who likes what i’ve pinned, who’s re-pinned my pins and who is now following me. (It’s very satisfying and reassuring to see people are loving the same things) I check it in the morning, pin inspirational, useful and beautiful things throughout the day, check it again while cooking the girl’s dinner and i’ll be linking it very closely to this blog.

I found some interesting facts about pinterest:

  • According to Experian, in the UK Pinterest saw a 786% increase in traffic last year from 901,761 visits in September 2011 to 7,985,316 in September 2012. Meanwhile in the US Pinterest saw a 15-fold increase to 139m visits in September 2012 compared to 9.2m in the same period in 2011.
  • According to Repinly, the most popular category on Pinterest is ‘food and drink’ with 11.9% of pins, followed by ‘DIY and crafts’ 9.2% and ‘home décor’ (5.9%). However, looking at pinboards rather than single pins, home décor is actually the most popular category (11%) followed by ‘art’ (10.7%) and ‘design’ (10.3%).

Pinterest

Pinterest has been growing rapidly since it’s Launch in 2010. I tell every creative person I meet about it and joke that i should receive commission. (if only i knew where to start with buying shares) I currently use Pinterest for logging interesting websites, recipes, wedding ideas, Interior design ideas or combinations that appeal to my imagination.

If you haven’t yet discovered Pinterest I urge you to take a peek – I bet you too will be hooked! – just know that it may possibly take over a little more of your life than you’d expected! .. and you may even decide to throw a blog into the mix!

If you are already on pinterest, then you’ll know what i’m talking about! .. follow me http://pinterest.com/kimberlygreen

Phew … first post – DONE!

Leave a Reply

